Iowa Distance
Learning Association

The Iowa Distance Learning Association has had two major awards in the past.  We are suspending the awards for the 2017-2018 year.  We will revisit their reinstatement in the coming year. 

Award winners normally receive a trophy, are recognized on our web site and are invited to do a presentation to our members at the following symposium.

IDLA Innovators Award

Innovators awards are given to individuals or organizations for contributions to distance learning through outstanding teaching, program design and development, innovations in methods, technique, and technology, and advocacy. Members of IDLA may nominate others for consideration for Innovators Awards.

Categories: two awards are given annually.

  • Education (K-12 and higher education)
  • Corporate/Telemedicine/Military


  • Nominees must reside and work in Iowa (individuals), or must operate as an organization within the state of Iowa.
  • Nominees must be people or an organization that works within the field of distance education.
  • Only current or past IDLA members may nominate candidates for Innovators Awards.
  • Nominations may be made on behalf of individuals, organizations, or groups within an organization.
  • Nominations may be submitted to the Awards Committee by letter or by email. In the nominating letter please include the following information:

To Apply

In three pages or less, using the following headings, please outline and describe your nominee for the Innovators Award.

  • Category in which the nomination is made. (ie. education, corporate/telemedicine/military)
  • Name, title, address of nominated individual or organization.
  • Description of the role the nominee serves within the field of distance education in Iowa.
  • Summary of contributions to distance education within Iowa, especially within the last year.
  • Up to three additional letters of recommendation.

Please e-mail to IDLA President (

Congratulations 2016 Innovator's Award Winners!  

 This year we gave out to Education awards as we did not have an entry in the Corporate/Telemedicine/Military category:

Category: Education (K-12)

The 2016 IDLA Innovator’s Award goes to the Des Moines Public Schools Office of Innovation

Category: Education (Higher Education)

The 2016 IDLA Innovator’s Award goes to Dr. Devrim Ozdemir, Instructional Design Coordinator at Des Moines University

Congratulations to our 2016 IDLA Innovator’s Award winners!    Both of our award winners were invited to do presentations at the 2016 IDLA Spring Symposium on April 17, 2017 at the Simpson College Campus in West Des Moines, IA.    

Copyright © 2017 Iowa Distance Learning Association (The State Chapter of the United States Distance Learning Association)
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management